Home > Miscellaneous > Continuing Our Intermission…

Continuing Our Intermission…

Yet hopefully satisfying anyone that happens to enjoy reading what I write, I add another post. This one is actually on my blog from 2007, but it is precisely where I’m at right now and related to where I’m at in other ways. Reading the passage in James is also very helpful for understanding the flow of this post. So, again, here’s my heart in slightly intellectualized format.

You can learn a lot on Facebook. It’s thought inspiring. I’ll trace my thought development a little bit here. A friend of mine recently had a status that said “_______ is their own worst enemy.” And that got me thinking. First of all, about Lit’s wonderful tune, “My Own Worst Enemy,” the lyrics of which go something like, “It’s no surprise to me I am my own worst enemy, cause every now and then I kick the living shit out of me.” Ain’t that the truth?

Really, I think it is. I have messed up my life so many times because I try to live pursuing my indigent desires deemed by my own perspicacity to be good. And what I find is that the patina of goodness merely conceals the arrant nature of my wants. I live for myself, and really screw things up. I’ve ruined relationships with people. Powerfully tempting and temporary lusts of all sorts have at times consumed me and driven me to live apart from my very source of life. In an unending number of ways I’ve screwed myself. I am my own worst enemy.

James 4 talks about the results of fights and quarrels and our lack of getting what we want coming from the desires that are embattled with eachother within us. Too often what we end up wanting, striving for, and asking God for is a selfish desire that is only for our own pleasure, and really of no inherent value. And when desires for the ephemeral are victorious, we become enemies of God. For sinful nature, by nature, is an enemy of God, and us, by living in the desires God has execrated, live in enmity with God. How can God bless the person who denies Him to follow their own whims?

I’m just so glad the passage (or the story of my life) doesn’t stop there. We’re so blessed to have a jealous God that envies intensely. Jealous pursues us, though we’ve shut Him down, and leaves us with a simple choice between two polar opposites. Pride and a self-seeking life or humility and a life given over to God, in whose hands it should be. It’s sometimes a hard decision. The fears of self abnegation are compelling and the pleasures of the world enticing. But the unseen is far more. Far, far more. And even when we’ve run away and destroyed ourselves, Jealous finds us, and arms open, eyes full of love, pleads with us.

If we’re our own worst enemy. God is our most wonderful ally. Submit yourselves then, to God.

Categories: Miscellaneous
  1. July 31, 2009 at 10:27 am

    Jerry,

    You have a blog devoted to random spiritual musings and snippets of life, too! Hoooray. I hope life is treating you well.

    Often when I think of sin, I think of the hardships of dealing with its results: the corruption of good intentions, the corrosion of projects that simply failed, waste, weakness, and death. There is a frailty to our Earthly endeavors: “Cursed is the ground because of you. Through painful toil will you eat of it all the days of your life.”

    What I fail to remember (and what you helped remind me of) is that sin is more than a mistake or a weakness: it is a rebellion. Sin isn’t just the cause of disease. It’s also my rejection and subjugation of God’s Will.

    Your post also reminds me of my little pet project of blogging through Romans this summer. Specifically, Romans 5:

    You see, at just the right time, when we were still powerless, Christ died for the ungodly. Very rarely will anyone die for a righteous man, though for a good man someone might possibly dare to die. But God demonstrates his own love for us in this: While we were still sinners, Christ died for us.

    Since we have now been justified by his blood, how much more shall we be saved from God’s wrath through him! For if, when we were God’s enemies, we were reconciled to him through the death of his Son, how much more, having been reconciled, shall we be saved through his life!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

