Home > Miscellaneous > Intermission #3: To Infinity…

Intermission #3: To Infinity…

I’ve been thinking lately about God’s infiniteness. I’m not going to lie, it’s a pretty big deal. Here’s a video that displays the size of the universe God created. Watch it, It’s cool. Man, it’s huge. God created that. He created that with a few words. It’s incredible. There truly is no limit to his power. He is beyond size. He offers life that lasts forever. Ever stop to think about eternity? Do it, it’s incredible to imagine. My Lord knows everything… EVERYTHING. My God is everywhere, even in the farthest reaches of the universe. It’s just ridiculous. I’m not going to elaborate on his infiniteness, one really begins to understand the weight of what I’m talking about when one starts trying to conceptualize infinite anything and realizes their own inability to do so. So, if you’ve got some time, try to conceptualize it.

I’ve also been thinking lately about sin. Not just sin in general, my sin. Specifically, how freaking sinful I am and can be. I’m not going to lie people, I’m an incredibly sinful human being. I’m not going to go through my laundry list of sins, perhaps another time, but it’s very long (and those are just the sins that I’m aware of). There seems to be no end to my sin. I’ve also been thinking about your sin (yes, I know who you are, and you are insanely sinful). There seems to be no end to that either. You just keep sinning, I just keep sinning. When I try to imagine how sinful we are, it is similar to trying to imagine infinity. I can’t do it. Our sin appears neverending.

My seemingly infinite sinfulness makes me afraid. Afraid to go back to God. Afraid that I’ll never be who I want to be, so why try. Afraid that I’ll ever be enough for Him. Afraid I’ll never be enough for anyone. Afraid that God won’t forgive me this time. Afraid this was my last chance. My sin often feels overwhelming. It feels impossible to forgive. It sometimes feels like I’m doomed to death, here and forevermore. Certainly that’s what I deserve.

My attempt to conceptualize our level of sinfulness is the reason God’s infiniteness has struck me so strongly lately, as opposed to what it typically has been my attitude about the subject, acknowledging it as something that is true but is pointless to actually think about. God is infinite, my sinfulness feels that way. That’s why it takes God to be enough for me. Nothing else, no one else can be. The only thing that really matters is his forgiveness, for only that can be enough. Only Him being for me what I could not be and sacrificing Himself to take the place of me and free me from my nearly infinite sinfulness could be enough. Enough to free me from my own overwhelming sin. I have hope because of God’s incomprehensible massiveness, incomprehensible mercy, incomprehensible love, incomprehensible sacrifice. His infinity means that I am truly free, truly forgiven, truly separated from my own sin.

But let me not stop there; let us not stop there. It’s easier to stop there. It’s simpler and it sometimes feels better, but if we stop there, we will be living a life of death despite our forgiveness. We must also acknowledge that because of God’s infinite power and wisdom, He has equipped us to live free from sin. He has separated us from it and now we are to live separate from it. This living falls on us, but it is the power of God that enables us to live in this manner. Victory is ours if we would just live in it. So stop hanging onto the chains around your body that God has broken. Use the key God has given you to unshackle yourself. Stop feeling like you’re in a dark tunnel of sin you cannot escape when God is shining brightly right in front of you at the end of the tunnel and all you have to do is stop standing still and take a step forward. Let yourself let go of the things that are killing you and cling to Life Himself.

Categories: Miscellaneous
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

