Home > Miscellaneous > Lent

Lent

This will be brief. I kind of think that Lent is a silly time of year. As I understand it, it’s all about giving something up for a brief period of time in order to focus on God more and to bring one’s heart to a place of willing sacrifice. It sounds like a good idea on one level, but I just don’t really like it. I think my aversion to it is the result of my uber-idealism.

I think that people should always be ready to sacrifice anything for God, living an open-handed life where we are allowing God to take from us whatever He will because it’s all his anyway. I also think that people should always be completely focused on God where He is all we want and everything we do is about Him and for Him. A specific time of self-denial and prayer seems absolutely pointless because we are called to give up everything always and to pray incessantly. Since we’re to do these things every moment of everyday forever, isn’t a specific time of sacrifice a complete waste?

It’s not. Real life just doesn’t work the way that I want it to. We really aren’t as ready to sacrifice everything as we are called to be. And we really don’t focus on God enough. We’re not in that place yet. Maybe some are really close. But I’m certainly not. Sometimes, I have to put aside my stubborn idealism and embrace reality. Mine is pretty humble and pretty far from the life of incessant prayer and complete God-centeredness that I imagine to be normative. So, I’m giving up some things for lent that should help with both. U?

Categories: Miscellaneous
  1. March 2, 2010 at 10:19 pm

    Love it!!!

  2. March 3, 2010 at 6:13 pm

    You love Lent? Why?

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

