Home > Miscellaneous > Passionate Energy

Passionate Energy

Things have shifted dramatically in my sleep schedule over the last year. Most would probably call it a healthy lifestyle change or that my life has become a little more sane. What’s the change? I keep sleeping. As a general rule, over the last 8 years I have not slept as much as your average person. I was very capable, efficient, energetic, passionate, and just plain alive on five hours of sleep. Some days I’d get more, some I’d get less, but I’d try to plan my life around five and half hours of sleep. It was great.

Now, if I tried to do that regularly, I’d fall apart. It’s amazing how much has changed in terms of my energy level on less sleep. I pretty much simply cannot do it without repercussions to my productivity, emotional stability, mental awareness, and spiritual dependence. If I sleep less than 7 hours in a night, then I nap for a couple of hours during the day when I get a chance. I feel like I just keep sleeping and that much of my life is either consumed by being tired or by trying to sleep.

Why is this? Well, I think for a while I assumed I was just getting older and my body was getting worn out and I was out of shape. I assumed it was my physical habits and aging body. A few things have made me question that evaluation. First, I started working out with some regularity, about once a week, and have felt my body getting into better and better shape and have seen that I am just as capable of being strong and healthy now as I was then. It seems that maybe my age isn’t that big of a factor after all. Second, I have this friend that, in the past, spent a lot more time sleeping than me. Then, something happened in his life. His heart was set on fire. His passion doubled. He was staying up really late and waking up really early and absolutely loving every minute of it. He was living inspired by relationship. And I remembered.

I used to have passion that gave me energy, strength, and such a desire to be awake for as long as possible that I slept less without detriment to my capacity to function well in life. But I like sleeping now. I can just sleep and not think of anything. I don’t have to find ways to pass the time. I don’t have to loaf. I don’t have to try to watch another movie. I don’t have to deal with the overwhelming unknown of the future. I don’t have to focus on what is going on inside me. I always have the excuse that I’m asleep.

I don’t need to find a reason to get up in the morning or to institute things in my life that force me to wake up early. I don’t need to create a schedule so hectic that I don’t have time to sleep. I need to remember my reason to get up in the morning. I still have it. It hasn’t given me the same passion, but my reason is not far from anyone and if I would just look for it with my whole heart, surely I would rediscover it and be again ignited with a fire like a KBI-500, as opposed to the pilot light burning inside now.

What do I need to rediscover? Oh, you already know. It may seem like I’m beating a dead horse* because I’ve talked about him a thousand times, but may I talk about him millions more! The reason I must remember is Jesus. Simply Jesus. Being properly related to my Creator, Savior, Father, Brother, Redeemer, Lord, King, and Friend is absolutely the most exciting thing in the history of humanity. I get to be a part of it. WOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOT!

 
 

*Which I would have no qualms about doing, if you remember, “I don’t really like horses.”

Categories: Miscellaneous
  1. Joel Morgan
    October 11, 2010 at 8:27 pm

    awake my soul!

  2. October 17, 2010 at 4:36 pm

    YAY!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

