Home > Romans 9 > Because I Like Reading Others’ Thoughts

Because I Like Reading Others’ Thoughts

So, in our brief trek through the luscious landscape of looking at portions of Romans 9 through the Old Testament lenses Paul encourages us to put on we have two more stops. Hosea and Isaiah. I know that at least some of you have appreciated the way that I’ve approached the text (despite it’s candidly singular focus). I have found the exploration process more rich than the writing. What I would like is to only write about one more book and its impact on interpreting Romans 9. I want you to write about the other one.

What I want is for one of you, or all of you, to write about one portion of Romans 9 using either Paul’s quotes from Isaiah or Hosea, using a similar approach to what I have used. If anyone actually does it, I will post it on my blog. If multiple people do it, then I may post one, but I will probably post all of them. If you’d just like to send me something but don’t want me to publish it, that would be cool too. I really am just interested in how others see the relationships of the stories and words of the past to Paul’s argument in the “present.” If you need a more clear writing prompt, here: How does Paul’s quoting of Isaiah (or Hosea) add to, clarify, and effect the point he is making in Romans 9? Email it to me at jeremiahjm@gmail.com.

Categories: Romans 9 Tags: ,
  1. Joel Morgan
    March 30, 2011 at 2:51 pm

    I like this idea. I may give it a shot but I need to read Romans 9 again to make sure I understand it. No guarantee that it’ll actually get done, but I like the idea.

  2. March 30, 2011 at 7:01 pm

    Maybe ask Doug Padgitt and Mark Driscoll if they’d be game? 😉

  3. March 30, 2011 at 11:24 pm

    I’ll send Marky Mark a text.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

