Home > For My Stuck Friends > For My Stuck Friends: Holiness Fits You

For My Stuck Friends: Holiness Fits You

But you are a chosen race, a royal priesthood, a holy nation, a people for his own possession, that you may proclaim the excellencies of him who called you out of darkness into his marvelous light. Once you were not a people, but now you are God’s people; once you had not received mercy, but now you have received mercy. – 1 Peter 2:9-10

St. Peter wants us to make sure we know who we are. He presents who we are through Jesus in a manner that highlights a theme that is weaved in the fabric of this letter. It’s a theme about the contrast that demarcates the past from the present. In our first message from Peter, he talked about how the time of the past was sufficient for living in sin and now it was time for a life of obedience. The second message was about how Jesus has freed us from the futile ways of the past and we are now freed to live a life of meaning. This message is about who we were once and who we are now.

There was this time when we were in the darkness. There was a time where my life was just life. I was just living my way. I was a functional part of society that looked for ways to benefit myself within my context, regardless of how it affected others. I existed. But there was no substance to it. There was no light. I barely scratched the surface of intimacy with others. My strongest sense of belonging came from being in a club. I lived in sin. I was an object of wrath.

But now! Now I have received mercy. Now I am an intimate part of God’s family. I am a part of His people. The Judge and Mercy-Giver, Love Himself, brought me out of the darkness of my past and has brought me into His marvelous light as part of his holy nation. More than that, I am a royal priest who He has hand-picked to proclaim how incredible He is to the world. God’s radical transformation of who I am is truly wonderful.

For those who are in Christ, this is who we are. Again, it’s not a pretend thing. It’s our reality. It is easy to think that because you sometimes go back into the captivity of sin that you are the same disjointed person you used to be. That you’re still in the darkness. But you don’t have the final word on the matter. God does. You’re a part of a royal priesthood.

In acknowledgment of this beautiful truth, live according to who you are. It no longer makes sense to indulge in in the same futile sinful ways of the past because we are different people. You are God’s people. God is holy. It befits you to be holy. Those ways we used to live in are incongruent with who we are now. Who you are, the light you live in, and the people you are a part of are worth living in. You know who you are. Be that person

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

