Home > Jeremiah Was a Dragon-Man > Jeremiah Was A Dragon Man: Inevitability Leads to Despair

Jeremiah Was A Dragon Man: Inevitability Leads to Despair

“The sin of Judah is written with a pen of iron… Your wealth and all your pleasures I will give as spoil for the price of your high places for sin throughout all your territory. You shall loosen your hand from your heritage that I gave to you, and I will make you serve your enemies in a land that you do not know, for in my anger a fire is kindled that shall burn forever.”
-Jeremiah 17:1-4

YHWH speaks of the sin of Judah as unchanging. It is written with a pen of iron, engraved with a diamond on a tablet. You can’t just erase that shit. He speaks of the sin of His people as if it won’t go away. YHWH is speaking of the coming judgment in absolutes. He speaks of what He will do and what Judah shall experience. God speaks of the judgment in inevitabilties, as if the coming destruction cannot be stopped. He has been speaking in this manner for quite a few chapters.

For thus says the Lord:
“Behold, I am slinging out the inhabitants of the land at this time, and I will bring distress on them that they may feel it.” – Jeremiah 10:18

Therefore, thus says the Lord, Behold, I am bringing disaster upon them that they cannot escape. Though they cry to me, I will not listen to them. – Jeremiah 11:11

Thus says the Lord concerning all my evil neighbors who touch the heritage that I have given my people Israel to inherit: “Behold, I will pluck them up from their land and I will pluck up the house of Judah from among them.” – Jeremiah 12:14

Then you shall say to them, ‘Thus says the Lord: Behold, I will fill with drunkenness all the inhabitants of this land: the kings who sit on David’s throne, the priests, the prophets, and all the inhabitants of Jerusalem. And I will dash them one against another, fathers and sons together, declares the Lord. I will not pity or spare or have compasssion, that I should not destroy them.’- Jeremiah 13:13-14

The Lord said to me: “Do not pray for the welfare of this people. Though they fast, I will not hear their cry, and though they offer burnt offering and grain offering, I will not accept them. But I will consume them by the sword, by famine, and by pestilence.” – Jeremiah 14:11-12

Then the Lord said to me, “Though Moses and Samuel stood before me, yet my heart would not turn toward this people. Send them out of my sight, and let them go! – Jeremiah 15:1

Both great and small shall die in this land. They shall not be buried, and no one shall lament for them or cut himself bald for them. – Jeremiah 16:6

Get the point? God has been trying to make it clear for a while. He has a plan that is in process. He will bring disaster, pluck them out, consume them, dash them against one another, etc. Not only this, but don’t pray for these people, because it’s not going to work. Don’t bring the most impressive leader and prophet before YHWH, because it won’t change anything. Offerings won’t dissuade Him either. God is allowing the armies to come, destroy, and exile Israel. The nightmare that is coming will not be stopped.

So, I get the point, but then what’s the point? If God is not going to save Judah from her enemies anyway, then why try to do anything about it? The way that Judah’s imminent judgment is talked about by YHWH is as if it is unavoidable. So what’s the point of changing? What’s the point of pleading with God? What’s the point of the entire prophetic career of Jeremiah if it’s not to prevent the complete destruction and exile of Jerusalem? If the storm coming is unstoppable and unavoidable, where is the hope? I believe questions like these were shared by the people of Judah in response to Jeremiah’s prophecy. YHWH is about to answer.

  1. Caleb
    January 5, 2013 at 2:16 pm

    Thank you for this man. I want to read what you are going to write, because the last paragraph fits, as you know, how I feel.

    • January 5, 2013 at 4:38 pm

      Thanks Caleb. Good to hear from you in the blogging world. If you read Jeremiah 18, the next chapter, you’ll have a pretty good idea what I’m gonna say next…

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

